Share |
Curtis Knight & The Squires - You Can't Use My Name
Ref.: Legacy / Experience Hendrix
Date: 2015-03-24
Musicians: Curtis Knight & The Squires Feat. Jimi Hendrix
[77] mp3


01. How Would You Feel
02. Gotta Have A New Dress
03. Don't Accuse Me
04. Fool For You Baby
05. No Such Animal
06. Welcome Home
07. Knock Yourself Out
Knock Yourself Out (Flying On Instruments)
Knock Yourself Out (Flying On Instruments)
08. Simon Says
09. Station Break
10. Strange Things
11. Hornet's Nest
12. You Don't Want Me
13. You Can't Use My Name
14. Gloomy Monday


You Can't Use My Name: The RSVP/PPX Sessions


1. How Would You Feel 3:51
2. Gotta Have A New Dress 3:09
3. Don't Accuse Me 3:56
4. Fool For You Baby 2:16
5. No Such Animal 4:51
6. Welcome Home 3:48
7. Knock Yourself Out (Flying On Instrumentals) 6:55
8. Simon Says 3:39
9. Station Break 2:32
10. Strange Things 2:57
11. Hornet's Nest 5:10
12. You Don't Want Me 2:23
13. You Can't Use My Name 0:56
14. Gloomy Monday 3:31


This special compilation presents Jimi Hendrix's 1965-1967 sessions with
Curtis Knight & The Squires prior to his international fame leading the Jimi
Hendrix Experience.

While Jimi Hendrix's intermittent tenure as a guitarist for Curtis Knight &
The Squires in 1965 and 1966 was relatively brief, more than 100 albums have
been crafted from approximately forty studio recordings and consumer grade
stage recordings by the group. Most featured low fidelity variations,
remixes, edited versions, and instrumentals of the same material often with
their song titles changed. These albums were poorly annotated and all too
often featured cover art that depicted the guitarist at the peak of his Jimi
Hendrix Experience fame (and not as 'Jimmy Hendrix,' a sideman to Curtis
Knight) and thus snared unwitting fans throughout the world that were
starved for new Hendrix music for decades.

Jimi Hendrix was hamstrung throughout his career by litigation over these
recordings in the US and UK and these fights continued until his family
ultimately prevailed in litigation. You Can't Use My Name stands as their
first attempt to present this music in its original context.

You Can't Use My Name is newly mixed and prepared for release by Eddie
Kramer and includes the previously unreleased 1966 recording "Station
Break," the full length versions of "Knock Yourself Out [Flying On
Instruments]," "No Such Animal," and the 1967 recording of "Gloomy Monday"
that includes dialogue between Hendrix and producer Ed Chalpin (featuring
the guitarist's request that the producer not use his name on this session
because of the ongoing litigation between them).

Jimi Hendrix