Share |
Live At Winterland
Ref.: Polydor 847 238-2
Date: 1987
Musicians: The Jimi Hendrix Experience, Jack Casady, bass on 'Killing Floor'
(1) Live


01. Prologue
02. Fire
03. Manic Depression
04. Sunshine Of Your Love
05. Spanish Castle Magic
06. Red House
07. Killing Floor
08. Tax Free
09. Foxy Lady
10. Hey Joe
11. Purple Haze
12. Wild Thing
13. Epilogue


original media name
Jimi Hendrix Live At Winterland (ALBW).mp3


W&A Reviews
Live At Winterland (recorded 1968, released 1987)
The Winterland shows (Oct. 10, 11 and 12) were well-recorded, but they weren't that good: after spending almost a year recording Electric Ladyland, much of which doesn't feature Noel Redding, the Experience was rusty. The rarely-performed "Manic Depression" and a nice version of "Tax Free" are the highlights. (DBW)
Most of the rest consists of Hendrix standards. The other major exceptions are "Killin' Floor," with Jack Casady on bass, and Cream's "Sunshine Of Your Love," dedicated to the band by Hendrix because they'd just broken up. Whatever the minuses, this is a reasonable demonstration of the original Experience in good form - and it's relatively easy to find on CD. (JA)
Jimi Hendrix