Share |
Live At Woodstock
Ref.: MCA Records
Date: 1994
Musicians: Jimi Hendrix (guitar, vocals) / Mitch Mitchell (drums / Billy Cox (bass, background vocals) / Larry Lee (backing guitar) / Juma Sultan (percussion) / Jerry Velez (persussion)
(2) Live


Album Details
record label MCA Records
orig. release 1994
release date 07/06/1999
mono/stereo Stereo
studio/live Live

Track Listing
CD 1
1 Introduction
2 Message To Love
3 Hear My Train A Comin'
4 Spanish Castle Magic
5 Red House
6 Lover Man
7 Foxey Lady
8 Jam Back At The House
CD 2
1 Izabella
2 Fire
3 Voodoo Child (Slight Return)
4 Star Spangled Banner
5 Purple Haze
6 Woodstock Improvisation
7 Villanova Junction
8 Hey Joe


Woodstock (rec. 1969, rel. 1994)
- The other historically important Hendrix performance, featuring Mitch Mitchell, Billy Cox, and a gaggle of other musicians who either barely knew Hendrix, barely knew the material, or both. Covering for his unrehearsed band forced Hendrix into some wild and completely brilliant improvisation, some of it using the chordal soloing technique that Hendrix developed late in his career and never captured in the studio. No other rock guitarist has managed to imitate it - merely flashy technique a la Jeff Beck can never simulate Hendrix's unique musical insight. Oh yeah, this is the source of that crazy (and breathtaking) rearrangement of "The Star Spangled Banner" that you've heard a million times. (JA)
- Since nearly everyone had already left Woodstock by the time Hendrix came on, the only historical importance of this show was 1) the national anthem thing, which became a legend only after it was featured in the movie; and 2) the only recorded set by Hendrix's all-around weakest band since at least the Blue Flames. I don't see either of those as a compelling reason to get this set; hold off, unless you're studying his guitar technique. (DBW)
Jimi Hendrix