Share |
Mixdown Master Tapes
Ref.: Dandelion DL 005/6/7
Date: 1998
Musicians: Lee Michaels, keyboards on 1.04 Gypsy Sun and Rainbows on 1.06, 1.07 & 2.08
(3) Bootleg


1.01. The Stars That Play With Laughing Sams Dice
1.02. Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window?
1.03. Calling All Devil's Children
1.04. Hear My Freedom
1.05. Star Spangled Banner
1.06. Machine Gun
1.07. Freedom Jam
1.08. Message From Nine To The Universe
2.01. Untitled Instrumental Jam
2.02. Cat Talking to Me
2.03. Rainy Day, Dream Away
Rainy Day (Overdub)
Rainy Day (Overdub)
2.04. Rainy Day, Dream Away
2.05. Moon, turn the Tides ... gently gently away
2.06. Heaven Has No Tomorrow
2.07. Valleys of Neptune
2.08. Valleys of Neptune
2.09. Three Little Bears
Three Little Bears & Villanova Junction Blues
Three Little Bears & Villanova Junction Blues
2.10. Bleeding Heart
2.11. Bleeding Heart
2.12. Cherokee Mist
3.01. Mushy Name
Ezy Rider Jam Session
Ezy Rider Jam Session
3.02. Crying Blue Rain
For Me And You Jam Session
For Me And You Jam Session
3.03. Alcatrazz
3.04. Country Blues
3.05. Villanova Junction Blues
3.06. Hey Gypsy Boy
3.07. Jimi-Jimmy Jam
3.08. Three Little Bears
3.09. M.L.K.
M.L.K. & Cherokee Mist
M.L.K. & Cherokee Mist

Mixdown Master Tapes Vol.1 - 3 (Dandelion DL 005/6/7 / 1998 / 3CDs in slipcase) ftbfs: B621 / B622 / B623
Disc #1: "Mixdown Master Tapes Vol.1": Outtakes 1967-70 plus Winterland, San Francisco 11.10.68 [Soundcheck]
Disc #2: "Mixdown Master Tapes Vol.2": Outtakes 1967-70
Disc #3: "Mixdown Master Tapes Vol.3": Outtakes 1968-70
DISC 1: S.T.P. With L.S.D./Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window?/Calling All Devil's Children/Hear My Freedom/Machine Gun/Star Spangled Banner/Freedom Jam/Message From Nine To The Universe; DISC 2: Jazz Jimi Jazz/Cat Talkin' To Me/Rainy Day Dream Away/Moon Turn The Tides Gently Gently Away/Heaven Has No Sorrow/Valleys Of Neptune/3 Little Bears/Bleeding Heart/Bleeding Heart/Cherokee Mist; DISC 3: Dance/Lord I Sing The Blues (Lord I Sing The Blues For Me And You)/Midnight Lightning/Country Blues/Villanova Junction/Gypsy Boy/Valleys Of Neptune/3 Little Bears/Ezy Rider;Cherokee Mist
Various studio offerings...some more complete than anywhere else. CD; 3-CD Set. +
Three cd's fulls of Jams, Different mixes, Rehearsals, Alternative takes and Various studio offerings...some more complete than anywhere else. Sound quality on this is excellent throughout. These either came from sources extremely close to the master tapes, or the masters themselves. This is a set you have to have in your collection. Not a ahould have, a must have!
Mixdown Master Tapes CD 1

1) STP With LSD (4:35)
- Alternate mix with extended ending, same as on "get the
experience" cd but better sound quality.

2) Can you please crawl out your window (2:35)
- Excellent soundboard from winterland Feb 68
- Sound check I believe for this one, first time on cd too.

3) Calling all Devils Children (6:02)
- Oct 68,Excellent soundboard with alternate voice over mix.
- Musically slightly different from previous version, first time on
cd too.

4) Electric Church (9:04)
- Oct 68 with Lee Michaels on keyboards.
- Excellent soundboard with complete introduction included, first
time on cd too. (Colin's note: I think this might be "Electric Church Red

5) Star Spangled Banner (4:11)
- March 69,Different version
- Excellent soundboard, first time on cd too.

6) Machine Gun (12:39)
- Aug 69 with Gypsy sun and rainbow
- Great new version with excellent soundboard, first time on cd too.
- Not same version at all to Machine Gun on First rays of new risin
sun Cd (2 cd Triangle)

7) Freedom Jam (8:04)
- Aug 69 with Gypsy Sun and rainbow
- Same session as above, first time on cd, excellent soundboard.

8) Message from nine to the universe (19:04)
- May 69 with billy and buddy, same as album.
- Complete version and way better quality sound compared with any
previous release.

Mixdown Master tapes CD 2

1) Jazz Jimi Jam (14:00)
- Same as previous releases but way better sound quality as
compared with 51st Aniversary box set.

2) Cat talking to Me (2:46)
- Same as previous releases (ex. Message from nine to the universe
CD) but excellent sound quality.

3) Rainy Day (1:50)

4) Rainy Day Dream Away (11:03)
- these two cuts are on 1968 AD CD but excellent sound quality.
- #4 song is actually two songs spliced together as on 1968 AD.

5) Moon turn the tides (4:43)
- I believe this one is the same version as on lifelines (have to
check), excellent quality

6) Heaven has no tomorrow (8:32)
- Previously released on Diamond in the Dust CD, excellent quality.
- Jimi and billy rehearsal

7) Valleys of Neptune (2:55)
- Previously released on First rays of the new rising sun (triangle
- Excellent quality
- Jimi and billy rehearsal

8) Valleys of Neptune (5:52)
- Previously released on midnight beats Record plant Jams
- Excellent quality surpassing above and longer
- Sept 69 with gypsy suns and rainbow

9) Three little bears (12:20)
- Same version as on Unsurpassed masters cd on yellow dog.
- excellent sound quality.

10) Bleeding heart (0:34)
- March 70, guitar solo with studio talk
- excellent sound quality, first time outing on cd.

11) Bleeding heart (3:22)
- March 70, dual guitars and no other instruments.
- Previously released on unsurpassed masters cd on yellow dog.
- excellent sound quality.

12) Cherokee Mist (7:01)
- Same as usual from may 68.
- I like the sound quality on unsurpassed masters cd (yellow dog)
- Only song thats not as good sound quality as above cd version,
its the usual sound quality
you hear on previous boots.

Mixdown masters CD 3

1) Mushy Name aka Ezy Ryder (3:58)
- Previosly booted on Multicolored Blues CD.
- Apr 69 version with the experience, excellent sound quality.

2) Lord I sing the Blues for you and me (10:44)
- Previously Booted, excellent sound quality
- May be slightly longer ?

3) Keep on Grooving aka lower alcatrazz (4:11)
- Previously booted on First rays of new rising sun (triangle 2cd)
- Excellent sound quality.
- May 70

4) Country Blues (10:50)
- Jan 70 complete version with harmonica including astroman and hey
baby instrumental.
- Booted before but sound quality is excellent.

5) Villanova Junction Blues (4:11)
- Same as on 500,000 halos
- Excellent sound quality.

6) Hey gypsy boy (3:18)
- Same as on 51st Aniversary but better sound quality.

7) Three little bears (12:50)
- Same version as on Ball and chain, vocals mixed up.
- Excellent sound quality

8) MLK Jam (19:59)
- Complete jam and excellent sound quality.
- first time outing on cd besides bad sound quality version on Hear
my Freedom CD (Kobra)
Jimi Hendrix