Share |
Radio One
Date: 1988
Musicians: Jimi Hendrix (guitar, vocals) / Noel Redding (bass, background vocals) / Mitch Mitchell (drums, background vocals) / Jimmy Leverton (background vocals) / Alexis Korner (slide guitar)


01. Stone Free
02. Radio One
03. Day Tripper
04. Killing Floor
05. Love or Confusion
06. Drivin' South
07. Catfish Blues
08. Wait Until Tomorrow
09. Hear My Train A Comin'
10. Hound Dog
11. Fire
12. Hoochie Coochie Man
13. Purple Haze
14. Spanish Castle Magic
15. Hey Joe
16. Foxy Lady
17. Burning Of The Midnight Lamp

Originally Released: November 21st, 1988
on Rykodisc Analogue Records
2-LP Set
Available on Vinyl, Cassette & CD formats
THE TRACKS:Radio One Theme (12-15-67) / Day Tripper (12-15-67) / Killing Floor (3-28-67) / Drivin' South (10-6-67) / Stone Free (2-13-67) / Wait Until Tomorrow (12-15-67) / Hound Dog (10-6-67) / Hear My Train A Comin' (12-15-67) / Catfish Blues (10-6-67) / Hoochie Coochie Man (10-17-67) / Purple Haze (3-28-67) / Spanish Castle Magic (12-15-67) / Hey Joe (2-13-67) / Foxy Lady (2-13-67) / Burning Of The Midnight Lamp (10-6-67)
THE PERFORMERS: Jimi Hendrix (guitar, vocals) / Noel Redding (bass, background vocals) / Mitch Mitchell (drums, background vocals) / Jimmy Leverton (background vocals) / Alexis Korner (slide guitar)
Previously unreleased recordings made by the BBC at the BBC Broadcasting House & the BBC Theatre The Playhouse; London, England for the 'Saturday Club', 'Top Gear' and 'Alexis Korner's Rhythm & Blues Show' broadcasts.
Released in England (Rykodisc); England (1989; Castle Communications); Japan (1989; Rykodisc); Australia (Rykodisc/Survival); Japan (1994; VideoArts Music)


Radio One (recorded 1967, released 1988)
Superceded by the 1998 release BBC Sessions. (DBW)
Yup. (JA)
Jimi Hendrix
Radio One
# Song Name
1 Stone Free (3:26)
2 Radio One Theme (1:17)
3 Day Tripper (3:16)
4 Killing Floor (2:29)
5 Love or Confusion (2:54)
6 Drivin' South (4:50)
7 Catfish Blues (5:28)
8 Wait Until Tomorrow (2:57)
9 Hear My Train a Comin' (5:00)
10 Hound Dog (2:43)
11 Fire (2:43)
12 Hoochie Coochie Man (5:31)
13 Purple Haze (3:04)
14 Spanish Castle Magic (3:07)
15 Hey Joe (4:01)
16 Foxey Lady (2:59)
17 Burning of the Midnight Lamp (3:42)

Album Review
Seventeen songs from 1967 BBC broadcasts, when the Experience had yet to burn out from the wheel of constant touring, management hassles, and internal strife. They're in good, enthusiastic form as they run through early gems like "Hey Joe," "Foxy Lady," "Fire," and "Stone Free," the lack of studio polish giving these versions a loose feel. The Experience studio albums are still considerably superior to this set, but it's certainly worth acquiring by any serious Hendrix fan, not least because it has several covers that didn't make it onto the three proper Experience LPs. Several of these ("Hoochie Koochie Man," "Killing Floor," "Catfish Blues") reveal his sometimes overlooked affinity for Chicago-style electric blues; there are also a couple of surprises ("Hound Dog" and "Day Tripper"). With good sound, it's a solid addition to the Hendrix library, demonsrating his versatility in various rock, soul, and blues styles. ~ Richie Unterberger, All Music Guide

Album Credits
Mitch Mitchell Drums
Noel Redding Bass
Chip Branton Producer, Executive Producer
Joe Gastwirt Mastering
Jimi Hendrix Vocals, Main Performer, Performer, Guitar
Mark Linett ?, Audio Supervisor
Alexis Korner Guitar
Jimi Hendrix